General Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

Skeletons in the ancestors

Page 0 + 1 of 2

1. 1
  2. 2
  3. »
ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Nigel

Nigel Report 12 Jan 2004 22:38

I am a bit new to all this, but one of my ancestors, a John Reeves, was deported to Australia in 1816 for being part of a poaching gang that killed someone. He served 6 years and was pardoned. What skeletons do others have they are prepared to share?

Steph

Steph Report 12 Jan 2004 22:49

My husbands grandfather , from Northampton, was in Warwick prison on the 1901 census. No-one in the family has ever mentioned it and am still trying to find out why! Is listed as army private, so was possibly charged for being AWOL.

Margaret

Margaret Report 12 Jan 2004 22:52

Nigel The same thing happened to my great, great grandad in 1838. He was given 7 years. How did you find out what happened to him after he was transported? Mine obviously came back to England, or I wouldn't be here. I can't find him on the 1841 census, well I wouldn't if he was in Australia. He got married in Rutland in 1846, and is on the 1851 census. Margaret

Nigel

Nigel Report 12 Jan 2004 22:55