General Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

What do you think?

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Steven

Steven Report 29 Sep 2004 11:09

Hi Everyone!! I'm fairly new to this Family Tree lark and have hit a bit of a puzzler. I wondered if anyone can tell me whether this is a common occurrence or not. My name is Steve BUET - not a very common surname which you would think would make research easier!! I know my dad's and my granddad's name but here's where it gets interesting. Thomas Buet (Born 1896) is my grandfather. He appears as a five year old on the 1901 census and living in a household with his parents, Richard Edward Buet (aged 27) and Alice Buet (Nee Maguire) (aged 25). Now, R E Buet is the problem. I find his marriage in 1894 but looking up his birth in 1874 - no trace! But!! I found an Edward Richard Buet born in the right place in 1872. Is it common for people to not know how old they were back at the turn of the century - and would they inexplicably swap the order of their names around to confuse poor blokes like me a hundred years or so later? :o) Be interested to hear your opinions. Steve from Brum

Unknown

Unknown Report 29 Sep 2004 11:14