Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

Help .. I'm new to this!

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Alison

Alison Report 10 May 2006 11:09

I recently started to look for my father's family online. I've not started a 'paper trail' as yet other than what I have managed to glean from various sites like Ancestry and 1837 (which I must say have been very useful) and I've got the direct line back to 1806 with ease. HOWEVER, I know for a fact that my grandfather was one of a dozen or so children, but I have only managed to come up with 6 of them from census information .. is there any way I can find out where the rest of them are without knowing their names .. only the surname .. and there were about 7m Capsticks living in and around Kendal at the time of my grandfather/gg grandfather and ggg-grandfather's birthdates! Any help for how to proceed would be greatly appreciated.

KathleenBell

KathleenBell Report 10 May 2006 11:14