Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

Newb - Help

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

LunaPoppet

LunaPoppet Report 19 Jun 2010 21:32

Im relatively new to this - think ive done quite well so far considering i've not got much information from living relatives but i was just wondering if someone could give me some advice on how to go about building my tree, ive got back to early 1900s/1890's but keep hitting a wall.

Also is there anyway of finding out who someones father was - im trying to find the name of my grandads father but all i have is my grandads info and his mothers name and place of birth but i dont think they were married so cant find a marriage record.

Thanks in advance for any help :)

Ozibird

Ozibird Report 19 Jun 2010 21:46

Do you have your grandfather's birth cert? If he doesn't know his father, and it's not on his birth cert there's very little likelihood of you ever knowing. Unless there is a living relative who knows something.

Ozi

LunaPoppet

LunaPoppet Report 19 Jun 2010 23:49