Find Ancestors

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

1921 and 1923 Census?

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Gillian

Gillian Report 30 Aug 2013 09:46

I am a complete beginner and have just started to try and find out about my grand father on my mothers side of the family. My grand father was married 1st in 1912 and had two children. At some stage he was widowed and in 1927 married again and my mother was born a year later in 1928.
I have looked at the 1901 and 1911 Census and found out about my grand fathers parents and siblings but can I access later census records for 1921 and 1931 on this site?
thanks

Gai

Gai Report 30 Aug 2013 09:53

Hi Gillian,

Welcome to the boards.

Unfortunately due to the 100 year ruling there is no access to the 1921 and the 1931 census.

After 1911 the mothers maiden name is attached to a child's birth record so this is a great help in searching for family.

Gai :-)

+++DetEcTive+++

+++DetEcTive+++ Report 30 Aug 2013 11:03

It might be possible to find him on Historical Electoral Rolls - they would also list other eligible voters living at the same address.

The age of Majority was 21 in those days, and married women, or women with property were not enfranchised until after WW1